Loving my Life

Image

Image

Loving my life

Loving my life is far more important than selling books (although my publisher might disagree!). Unless I’m really mindful, I find myself obsessing about how sales are going, how many people RT’d me, and whether my likes on Facebook have increased– so much so, that I miss all the wonderful things that are going on in my life.

That is why going on holiday is so important to me. It takes me away from my computer and makes me appreciate real life. I’ve just come back from the Isle of Wight where we’ve been on holiday for a week. I know I’ve been there already this year but I love it so much! Even though we go at least three times a year we still managed to discover three new beaches that we hadn’t found before.

Every time I go on holiday I take my lap-top intending to write some of my current book and each time I open it about once. I can’t Tweet or go on the internet in the holiday cottage as there is no internet (apart from on my phone which I purposely leave at home). At first it feels like the world will end without me knowing what’s trending but then I relax into a life without technology and it’s really refreshing.

We spent the week walking and sunbathing (and I even paddled in the sea!). I read other people’s books instead of my own and completed a whole edition of the Puzzler. Now I’m back and raring to go. My new book ‘How to Have an Amicable Divorce’ is out on Thursday 15th May and this time I’m not stressing about it, because it’s not the only thing that’s important in my life.

Having said that I do hope you buy it. How else am I going to fund my next relaxing week on the Isle of Wight!

Leave a Reply

