Why I write!

“Writing is the only profession where no-one considers you ridiculous if you

earn no money” Jules Renard.

Image

 

Every morning when I get up and start writing it’s because of the love of it. If writers got up wondering how much they were going to earn today … they’d soon go back to bed! I’m often asked where I get my ideas from and I always say a similar thing – they just come to me and I have to get them down. As I’m writing I don’t think ‘is this going to be a best seller?’ (although I’d love it to be) I think about my characters and what they want to say today.

I believe my books write themselves. I’m not a planner. I don’t know what is going to happen at the end of a book. I don’t even know all the characters. I’m just inspired to tell a story which hopefully you will enjoy. My reviews tell me I’m doing a good job.

If I did it for the money I’d have gone out and got a real job years ago. It’s hard to quantify how much you earn as a writer because it’s not like you get an hourly rate and let’s face it, if you get £7.99 max for a book you’re lucky.

I didn’t set out to moan in this blog and I wouldn’t swap what I’m doing for the world but spare a thought for us poor writers and artists out there. Not your JK Rowlings or your James Pattersons … they don’t need your sympathy! Many artists and writers sell books and paintings posthumously but it would be nice to make a good living without having to die!

That’s me down from my soap box! Hopefully, I’ll be in a better mood the next time we meet.

 

Leave a Reply

